STMA Inuagrates Sub Metro Councils
by STMA / June 11th, 2024 /
Post Image

The Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly (STMA) has inaugurated the three (3) Sub Metropolitan District Councils and their respective unit committee members. The 180 Unit Committee Members comprise 45 for Sekondi, 75 for Takoradi and 60 for the Essikado-Ketan Sub Metropolitan Councils, respectively. Addressing the members, the Hon. Metropolitan Chief Executive, Abdul-Mumin Issah, indicated that the inauguration of the Councils conformed to the provision in the LI 2223, adding that the Councils are now empowered to meet and elect their respective Chairpersons, constitute Sub-Committees and begin operations to enhance the development of their respective Councils.

Post Image

He pointed out that their duty was to assist in protecting the environment against pollution, engage with community members on issues of development as well as suggest recommendations for input into the Assembly’s development plans and budgets. He admonished against divisiveness and called for consensus building to ensure greater development. He added that as members of the Assembly structure, they were to use the laid-down procedures to seek clarity on issues they do not understand and avoid anything that may mar the image of the Assembly they serve The Presiding Member for STMA, Hon. Eugene Fredua Ofori-Atta, pointed out that the inauguration would deepen grassroots participation which enriches democracy. According to him, the 9th Assembly of STMA would put ahead transformational measures towards development and indicated that the involvement of the Sub Metropolitan Councils was crucial.

Post Image

For his part, the Metropolitan Co-ordinating Director, Mr. Innocent Haligah, pointed out that the Assembly operations system was in three parts, namely the Unite Committee, Assembly Members and Council Meeting. He indicated that to successfully drum home issues for attention, the due processes must be respected for speedy response. He again appealed to the Unit Committee Members to work closely with the Assembly Members and the Traditional Leaders to be successful in their community deliberations. The new Council Members and 180 Unit Committee Members were sworn in by the Metropolitan Chief Executive at separate meetings at the Sekondi Youth Center and the Takoradi Library Complex.



We'll do everything we can to resolve your problems.