General Profile

The Assembly was established as Sekondi Town Council in 1903 in a suburb of Sekondi called “European Town” under the Town Council Ordinance No.26 until 1949 when Takoradi was identified as the administrative area of the Council. In June 1962, Sekondi/Takoradi was elevated to a status of a city and was fully established in 1994 under the name Shama-Ahanta-East Metropolitan Assembly (SAEMA) by a Legislative Instrument (L.I.1497) which was amended in 1995 by L.I. 1613 and consequently in 2017 by LI 2262. In 2008, after the Shama Sub-Metro was carved out to attain the status of a District, the Metropolis was renamed “Sekondi/Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly” (STMA) by a Legislative Instrument 1928 (L.I.1928).

The Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly (STMA) located at the southern part of the Western Region with Sekondi as the administrative capital. It is about 280 km and 130km east from Accra and La Cote D’Ivoire respectively. It is bordered to the north by Mpohor District, Shama District to the east, Effia-Kwesimintsim Municipal to the west and south by the Gulf of Guinea. It has a total land size of 189km2.

The capital of the Metropolis is the Twin-City of Sekondi/Takoradi, which is also the capital of the Western Region. The population is currently 245,382 (excluding that of Effia-Kwesimintsim Municipal which was carved out of the Metropolitan Assembly). The females represented 51.36% of the population as compared to males which constituted 48.64%.

Structure of the Assembly

The STMA has a Political and Administrative structure. The Political Structure is composed of the General Assembly of fifty-Seven (57) members, comprising thirty-six (36) elected members and Seventeen (17) appointed members, the Metropolitan Chief Executive and three (3) Members of Parliament as members of the Assembly. It operates through the committee system, with the Executive Committee (Metropolitan Authority) as the apex committee for discussion of issues for onward deliberation at the General Assembly. The Presiding Member chairs the General Assembly.

The Assembly’s Sub-committees include the following: Finance and Administration Sub-committee Works Sub-committee Education Sub-committee Social Services Sub-committee Environmental Management Sub-committee Revenue Mobilization Sub-committee Development Planning Sub-committee Justice and Security Sub-committee

The Metropolis is divided into three (3) Sub-Metropolitan District Councils; Sekondi Sub-Metropolitan District Council, Takoradi Sub-Metropolitan District Council and Essikado/Ketan Sub-Metropolitan District Council. There are thirteen (13) Town, Urban Council and Two Hundred and Forty (240) Unit Committee Members.

The Metropolitan Chief Executive chairs the Executive Committee and he is both the Political and Administrative head. He is directly assisted by the Metropolitan Co-ordinating Director who heads the Administrative bureaucracy of the Metropolitan Assembly and coordinates the affairs of all the Departments as well as the day – to - day administration of the Assembly.


The Sekondi Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly exists to improve the living conditions of the metropolis through the provision of sustainable socio – economic development

and good governance that is responsive to the needs of the people..


The Metro’s vision is to become a world-class city with modern infrastructure, social services, best governance, attractive business, and a living environment.


The Assembly visualizes a united metropolitan environment where its people actualize their dreams of internationally accepted standard of living enjoyed on a peaceful, realizable and sustainable basis in the next millennium


We'll do everything we can to resolve your problems.